redditch road & path cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 06-May-17
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: k33/10d
  • Closing Date: 25-Apr-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Ashton and Powell win in Worcestershire

  • Published: 07 May 17
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Timothy Ashton.

Timothy Ashton and Liz Powell put in strong displays to claim wins at the Redditch Road & Path CC 10 on Saturday

The fairly flat course starting in Dunnington takes in several villages such Norton, Harvington and Salford Priors finishing just south Alcester.

It was a strong field too, with many form riders in action, but Ashton (Royal Sutton CC) seems to favour this course, finishing second in the event in 2015 as well as a number of other strong performances on the K33/10D.

He made it to the top of the pile this time around and in some style, stopping the clock in 21.16 for victory by exactly half a minute.

The next four riders were separated by just eight seconds, veteran David Mead (Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT) coming second to add to his list of podiums in 2017.

Jon Simpkins (Drag2Zero) completed the top three, three and four seconds faster than Thomas Brazier (Team Elite/Paul Bethell Electrical) in fourth and first espoir Ryan Kenworthy ( respectively.

Liz Powell was in fine form in the women’s competition, wrapping up victory by an even greater margin than Ashton.

Liz Powell.

Powell (Mike Vaughan Cycles) had a double victory at last year’s emergency services championships, and has already had a win in 2017 at the VTTA national championships last month.

The 42-year-old from Kenilworth, Warwickshire added to that on Saturday, stopping the clock in a time of 23.54 which gave her a minute and a half cushion over her nearest rival.

Second woman was Helen Boatman (Team Milton Keynes) with third going to Diana Egerton-Warburton (Team Jewson-MI Racing).

Elsewhere, the day’s fastest junior rider was Joseph Gut (Wolverhampton Wheelers), whose time of 23.09 was enough for 16th place overall.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Timothy Ashton (Royal Sutton CC)           21.16

2. David Mead (Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT)         21.46

3. Jon Simpkins (Drag2Zero)  21.50

4. Thomas Brazier (Team Elite/Paul Bethell Electrical)          21.53

5. Ryan Kenworthy (           21.54

6. Stephen Vanes (       21.58

7. James Middleton (Media Velo)      22.04

8. Simon Garrett (Worcester St Johns CC)     22.15

9. Richard Bradley (Media Velo)       22.24

10. Xavier Disley (Aerocoach)           22.30

Women: Liz Powell (Mike Vaughan Cycles) 23.54

Veteran: David Mead

Junior: Joseph Guy (Wolverhampton Wheelers CC)  23.09