macclesfield wheelers

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Apr-17
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: j2/9
  • Closing Date: 04-Apr-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Turnbull battles blustery conditions to win Macclesfield Wheelers 25

  • Published: 16 Apr 17
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Mark Turnbull.

Mark Turnbull (TORQ Performance) won the Macclesfield Wheelers 25 for the second year running clocking a time of 53 minutes and 28 seconds.

The 44-year-old from Macclesfield clocked an average speed of over 28 miles per hour despite the sporting course and less than perfect conditions.

The J2/9 course see riders complete 1.5 laps of a looped circuit travelling along the A50 from Ollerton down to Cranage before heading back on the A535.

Veteran rider Turnbull who placed second in the Withington Wheelers 25 and third in the BDCA 25 took the top spot by over a minute on this occasion.

Lynsey Curran.

Taking second in 54.37 was Adam Robinson (Vision Racing) while David Crawley (Velotik RT) clinched third with a 55.07.

Scottish rider Lynsey Curran (Dooleys RT) took a closely fought women’s prize in a time of 1:01.20, which was seven seconds faster than Sarah Grant (Vision Racing).

Curran had placed 8th woman in the Buxton CC Classic Series event the previous day before staying in the area for the Macclesfield event the following day.

Seamons CC took the team prize with a combined time of 2:52:07 set by Alan Chorley, Adrian Hughes and Daniel Mathers.

Home club rider William Kershaw took the espoir prize clocking a 56.54 which was good enough for ninth overall.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.