great yarmouth cc (men)(120 riders)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 14-Apr-17
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: b10/43
  • Closing Date: 04-Apr-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Great Yarmouth victories for Senter and Smith

  • Published: 16 Apr 17
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Matthew Senter.

Matthew Senter (Velo Velocity) and Verity Smith (Stowmarket and Dist CC) were the men’s and women’s winners as Great Yarmouth CC staged a 10-mile time trial in Norfolk on Good Friday.

Senter, 36 and from Kings Lynn, clocked 20.26 to win by ten seconds from Harley Matthews (Dap CC), while Mark Richards (VC Baracchi) was third, another 33 seconds back.

It was Senter’s second open event of the season so far, following on from second spot achieved in the Kings Lynn CC 25-mile TT last weekend.

Smith’s time of 24.16 gave the 41-year-old from Ipswich the win by 30 seconds from Cindy Berry (BowlPhish Racing), while Jen Smart (VC Norwich) was third.

The event uses the single carriageway A143, and takes riders from a start north of Harleston north east to Bungay, before returning back down to finish just short of Wortwell.

Conditions were somewhat chilly, but a tailwind on the way out gave riders a boost before a tough homeward leg with the wind in their faces.

Jane Hannah.

In other categories, fastest woman on handicap was GB triathlete Jane Hannah, 38 and from Norwich, who clocked an actual time of 26.58 which gave her a handicap performance of 17.16.

Hannah, who competed for Great Britain at last year’s ETU Middle Distance European Triathlon Championships, took the win by 29 seconds from the promoting club’s Kerstin Langer (Great Yarmouth CC), while Godric CC’s Christine Cooke was another 14 seconds back in third on handicap.

Chris Nudds (CC Breckland) was the fastest veteran according to age standard, while Diss and District CC rider Paul White won the men’s handicap prize with a net time of 13.48.

Finally, VC Baracchi were the team winners.

* Photos and race information provided by Fergus Muir.




1  Matthew Senter (VeloVelocity)     20.26

2  Harley Matthews (Dap CC)            20.36

3  Mark Richards (VC Baracchi)        21.09

4  Lyster Romero (Wigmore CC)       21.18

5  Paul Jay (VeloVelocity)      21.41

6  Ben Beynon (Pedal Revolution)     21.45

7  Oliver Milk (Tri-Anglia)      21.46

8  Liam Gentry (VC Baracchi)           21.55

9  Steve Konrad (Dap CC)     21.56

10 Steve Cave (Wolsey RC)   22.00


Women on Scratch:

1  Verity Smith (Stowmarket & District)       24.16

2  Cindy Berry (BowlPhish Racing)   24.46

3  Jen Smart (VC Norwich)     24.59


Women on Handicap:

1  Jane Hannah (Tri Harder)   17.16 net, (26.58 scr)

2  Kerstin Langer (Great Yarmouth CC)        17.45 net, (27.58 scr)

3  Christine Cooke (Godric CC)         17.59, (17.59)


Vet on Standard: Chris Nudds (CC Breckland)     +5.41

Handicap: Paul White (Diss & District)         13.48 net

Team (Bidlake): VC Baracchi