stockton whs cc (sporting course)(entries close 31/03/17)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 09-Apr-17
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 23 Miles
  • Course: t235
  • Closing Date: 31-Mar-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Graves and Murray victorious at Stockton Wheelers TT

  • Published: 10 Apr 17
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Philip Graves.

Philip Graves (Nopinz) and Christina Murray (Army CU) were the fastest male and female riders at Stockton Wheelers’ 23-mile time trial, staged on the T235 course near Bishopton in County Durham.

Graves, the 27-year-old from York who is the reigning senior champion in the Knight Composites Classic TT Series, clocked 49.53 to win by more than three minutes with runner-up Michael Smart (TS Racing Team) clocking 53.10.

Fastest and only woman was Christine Murray, the Army CU veteran whose time of 59.55 put her an impressive 16th overall.

Warm and sunny conditions made for a good event and some fast times throughout the categories.

Rob Chaplin (East London Velo) was the fastest veteran in the 40-49 age group, while best in the 50-59 age band was Hartlepool CC’s Paul Fountain with 57.04 for ninth overall.

Adept Precision RT won the team prize, their fastest trio being made up of Andy Moss, Paul Felce and Jamie Corcoran who combined for a time of 2:53.13.

Christina Murray.

There was also a strong ride in the juvenile category with Thomas Heighton, the Stockton Wheelers youngster who was national champion in last year’s circuit championship in the 12-year-old’s category, covering the course in 1:19.22.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Number      Name        Club  Category    Time

1     Philip      Graves      NOPINZ      S     49:53

2     Michael     Smart TS Racing Team - OTR    S     53:10

3     Rob   Chaplin     East London Velo  V40   54:32

4     Richard     Lilleker    Cleveland Wheelers CC   S     55:09

5     Graeme      Carter      Stockton Wheelers CC    V40   55:55

6     Graeme      Tate  Cleveland Wheelers CC   S     56:02

7     Chris Hopkinson   CC Desiragear     V40   56:30

8     Simon Gibbs Tyneside Vagabonds CC   V40   56:46

9     Paul  Fountain    Hartlepool CC     V50   57:04

10    Nev   Martin      GS Metro    V50   57:14

11    Andy  Moss  Adept Precision RT      V50   57:15

12    Chris Wood  TS Racing Team - OTR    V40   57:19

13    Paul Felce Adept Precision RT      V40   57:57

14    Jamie Corcoran    Adept Precision RT      V40   58:01

15    Robert      Spink Ferryhill Whs     V40   59:21

16    Christina   Murray      Army Cycling Union      LV40  59:55

17    Laurence    Corbett     Richmond CC V40   1:00:29

18    Howard      Heighton    Ferryhill Whs     V40   1:01:16

19    Declan      Bowler      Stockton Wheelers CC    E     1:01:27

20    Mark  Tinkler     Hartlepool CC     V50   1:01:35

21    Dougan      Collins     Ferryhill Whs     V50   1:01:50

22    Sebastian   Stockbridge Blaydon CC  S     1:02:09

23    Richie      Grant Hartlepool CC     V50   1:02:27

24    Stuart      Raw   Bishop Auckland CC      S     1:02:43

25    Sean  Ormerod     Harworth and District Cycling Club  S     1:03:07

26    Matthew     Cutler      Bronte Whs  V40   1:03:09

27    David Goodwin     Newcastle Cheviot CC    V50   1:03:33

28    Gary  Worton      Stockton Wheelers CC    V50   1:04:06

29    John  Main  Cleveland Wheelers CC   V60   1:04:08

30    Phil  Wright      Hartlepool CC     V60   1:10:03

31    David       Herbert     Hartlepool CC     V70   1:14:46

32    Thomas      Heighton    Stockton Wheelers CC    J     1:19:22

      Paul  Garstang    Hartlepool CC     V50   Apol

      Paul  Thirling    Hartlepool CC     V40   Apol

      Peter Guy   Adept Precision RT      V50   Apol

      James Meadows     Cleveland Wheelers CC   S     Apol

      Dave Bramley     Team Swift  V40   Apol

      Neil  Foster      Adept Precision RT      V50   DNS

      Chris Sleath      MTS Cycle Sport   S     DNS