eastbourne rovers cc (entries close 28/07/2016)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 07-Aug-16
  • Time: 06:30
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: g25/89
  • Closing Date: 28-Jul-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Morris and Summerford win in Cliff Sharp Memorial 25

  • Published: 07 Aug 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Seventh in last year’s event, Pete Morris (Team ASL360) improved by more than a minute to take victory in Eastbourne Rovers CC’s Cliff Sharp Memorial 25-mile time trial in East Sussex on Sunday.

38-year-old Morris clocked 54.05 to take the win by just seven seconds from Steve Dennis (East Grinstead CC), while another 28 seconds back was Nick Dwyer (Lewes Wanderers CC) in third.

And Ruth Summerford (Velopace) added to the win she took in the previous day’s Eastbourne Rovers 10-mile time trial, was again victorious with a time of 1:00.24, good enough for the win by 2-35 from Julia Hawksworth (Southborough and District Wheelers).

Fabien Large was victorious again following his win in the Eastbourne 10 the previous day, while the fastest veteran was Nick Malins (4T+ Velo) with 55-37 which was good enough for seventh overall.

East Grinstead took the team prize quite convincingly, with Dennis being joined in the winning trio by Mark Bashford and Adam Grange. Their combined time of 2:49.46 gave them the win by more than two and a half minutes from the promoting Eastbourne Rovers CC.

Morris’s victory comes after he placed second in the East Sussex CA 100 last month, while he was fourth in the Worthing Excelsior CC 25 back in May.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Pete Morris (Team ASL360)           54.05

2. Steve Dennis (East Grinstead CC) 54.12

3. Nick Dwyer (Lewes Wanderers CC)          54.40

4. Simon McNamara (South Downs Bikes)    54.49

5. Neil Harris (PMR at Toachim House)         55.23

6. Steven Kane (Brighton Excelsior CC)        55.34

7. Nick Malins (4T+ Velo Club)          55.37

8. Mark Newton (Elite Cycling)         55.56

9. Matthew Woods (Eastbourne Rovers CC) 55.57

10. Chris Wolton (Southborough and Dist Wh)         56.20


1. Ruth Summerford (Velopace)         1:00.24

2. Julia Hawksworth (Southborough and Dist Wh)   1:03.01

3. Gina McGeever (Lewes Wanderers CC0   1:07.27

Best Improvement: David Clark (Eastbourne Rovers CC)    5.30

Juniors: Fabien Large (Hastings and St Leonards CC)          1:06.01

Over-40s: Nick Malins

Over-50s: Paul Byford (Crawley Wheelers)   58.24

Over-60s: Ian Bashford (Old Portlians CC)   1:00.12

Over-70s: Ben Fielden (GS Stella)     1:08.57

Team: East Grinstead CC (Steve Dennis, Mark Bashford, Adam Grange) 2:49.46