border city whs cc (hilly)(l&l spoco)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 28-May-16
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 29 Miles
  • Course: L291
  • Closing Date: 17-May-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Steele edges to Border City Wheelers win

  • Published: 29 May 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Stopping the clock just 19 seconds quicker than his nearest rival, Craig Steele (Lakes Road Club) took victory in the Border City Wheelers 29-mile time trial in Cumbria on Saturday.

The 38-year-old clocked 1:08:56 to claim the win ahead of 17-year-old Adam Hartley (PH-MAS Cycling), with Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers) completing the podium in third, 1-10 behind Steele.

The challenging event took the 35 riders from Dalston village to Welton, Caldbeck, Sour Nook and back into Dalston.

Fourth spot went to Derek Parkinson (Springfield Financial), whose time of 1:10.21 gave him the veterans prize by 19 seconds from 47-year-old Gethin Butler, the former British Best All-Rounder who was riding for Preston Wheelers.

Butler’s team-mate at Preston Wheelers, Paul Fleming was the fastest over-50 with 1:13:509 for ninth place, while the first female was Carol Westmorland (Border City Wheelers), who clocked 1:27:20 to win by 12 minutes from her nearest rival.

For Steele, it was just the latest in a string of good results this season. He won the Barrow Central Wheelers 21-mile event in April at Ulverston, while he was second in Kent Valley Road Club’s 15-mile time trial last week and third in the Kent Valley Road Club hill-climb which went from Kendal to the summit of Shap.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos      Name   Club    Time

1          Craig Steele     Lakes Road Club        1:08:56

2          Adam Hartley PH-MAS Cycling       1:09:15

3          Richard Bickley          Border City Wheelers 1:10:06

4          Derek Parkinson          Springfield Financial   1:10:21

5          Gethin Butler  Preston Wheelers        1:10:40

6          Ben Harrison   Prima Team Racing     1:11:27

7          Emil Petrov     Border City Wheelers 1:12:26

8          Tom Roper      Beacon Wheelers        1:13:05

9          Paul Fleming   Preston Wheelers        1:13:50

10        Ian Sibbert      Garstang CC   1:15:35

11        Patrick Pennefather     VC Cumbria    1:15:49

12        Darren Brackwell        Lakes Road Club        1:15:58

13        John Edmondson        Beacon Wheelers        1:17:20

14        Damon Atkinson         VC Cumbria    1:17:24

15        Duncan Orme  Kent Valley Road Club          1:18:11

16        Glenn Rhodes Barrow Central Wheelers        1:18:28

17        Campbell West            Kent Valley Road Club          1:18:39

18        James Roberts Chester RC     1:19:51

19        Matthew Atkinson      Beacon Wheelers        1:21:11

20        Sean Hoban     VC Cumbria    1:21:25

21        Martyn Uttley Lakes Road Club        1:21:48

22        James Haddow           Border City Wheelers 1:22:48

23        Mike Westmorland     Border City Wheelers 1:22:54

24        Andy Ibberson            Allen Valley Velo       1:23:33

25        Paul Russell     Springfield Financial   1:23:50

26        Roy Flanagan  Rossendale RC           1:24:10

27        Gavin Thomas Kendal Cycle Club     1:24:38

28        Kevin Crawley            Border City Wheelers 1:25:08

29        Martyn Blenkinship    Border City Wheelers 1:26:30

30        Carol Westmorland     Border City Wheelers 1:27:20

31        Chris Irving     Border City Wheelers 1:30:08

32        Kieran Hoban  VC Cumbria    1:32:03

33        Alex Forbes     Border City Wheelers 1:35:08

34        Sharon Lovidge          Barrow Central Wheelers        1:39:21

35        Dave Tinker    Clayton Velo   1:56:35

            David Trotter  Lancaster CC  dns

            Tim Bennett    Kent Valley Road Club          dns

            Dougi Hall      Border City Wheelers dns apol

            Craig Horseman          Rock to Roll Cycles    dns apol

            Paul Braithwaite         Pendle Forest CC        dns apol