otley cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 24-Apr-16
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: V235
  • Closing Date: 12-Apr-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Burke doubles up in Otley event

  • Published: 24 Apr 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

After winning the Leigh Premier RC event on Saturday, Olympic god medallist Steven Burke MBE made it two wins in two days in the Otley CC open 25 event on Sunday.

The Team Wiggins rider, from Burnley, was in fine form as he raced to top spot in a time of 53.05, 34 seconds ahead of second-placed rider Stephen Ayres of Bronte Wheelers. Ayres himself had an 11-second gap over Paul Thirling of Stockton Wheelers who finished third.

Eleanor Haresign (Harrogate Nova) was another rider taking two wins from two at the event. After winning the women’s category of the Yorkshire Cycling Federation 25 event in Topcliffe, Yorkshire on Saturday, she was topping the podium again here, beating Maxx RT’s Ann Walsham by 1.33. Helen Goldthorpe of Otley CC was third in 1:11.46.

Sam Walsham (Team Bikebox Alan) took home the juvenile prize with a time of 58.13 and fastest veteran was Patrick Lince of Flex Tech Ettridge Cycles RT in 57.18,

The team prize went to Team Swift trio of Steve Gore-Brown, Nigel Goscinski and Mark Surtonshaw with a combined time of 3:06.43.

Lesley Campbell and Stuart Watson of Columba CC won the tandem prize in a time of 1:04.46.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1          Steven Burke MBE     Team Wiggins S          53:05

2          Stephen Ayres Bronte Whs     S          53:39

3          Paul Thirling   Stockton Wheelers CC           S          55:20

4          Jonathan Robinson      Army Cycling Union  V40     56:55

5          Patrick Lince   Flex-Tech Ettridge Cycles RT            V40     57:18

6          Martin Flanagan          Team Bottrill  V40     57:55

7          Sam Walsham Team Bikebox Alan    J           58:13

8          Steve Gore-Browne    Team Swift     V40     58:17

9          Nigel Goscinski          Team Swift     V50     58:26

10        Jim Trevor       Hull Thursday RC      V40     58:37

11        Andrew Branston        RAF CA          V40     59:15

12        Stewart Pickard           Vive Le Velo  V40     59:22

13        Adrian Stott    Jackpot Racing            V40     59:29

14        Jonathan Webber        Harrogate Nova CC    V40     01:00:18

15        Paul Mapletoft Kiveton Park CC        V50     01:01:02

16        Chris Johnson Seacroft Whs   V40     01:02:52

17        Gary Sedgwick           North Lancs RC          V50     01:03:26

18        James Grainger           Wakefield CC V40     01:03:54

19        Michael Lamb Kiveton Park CC        V40     01:04:06

20        Darren Caines VC Bradford   V40     01:04:20

21        James Cullen   Otley CC         V50     01:04:34

22        Eleanor Haresign        Harrogate Nova CC    W        01:04:37

23        Simon Diggins            North Lancs RC          V40     01:04:53

24        Paul Heggie    Birdwell Whs  V60     01:04:54

25        Matthew Wilson          Jackpot Racing            S          01:05:03

26        Richard Gray  Norton Whs     V60     01:06:06

27        Ann Walsham Maxx RT         WV40 01:06:10

28        Gary Simpson Team Burn Machine   V40     01:06:14

29        Stephen Woodrup       Yorkshire Road Club  V60     01:06:24

30        Liam Mealey   Otley CC         S          01:07:38

31        Simon Tooley  Fietsen Tempo S          01:08:33

32        John Buddle    Otley CC         V50     01:09:03

33        Mark Burtonshaw       Team Swift     V50     01:10:00

34        Helen Goldthorpe       Otley CC         W        01:11:46

35        Mike Cole       Huddersfield RC        V70     01:12:11

36        John Baines     Yorkshire Road Club  V70     01:13:54

37        Claire Jessop   Otley CC         WV40 01:14:29

38        Sharon Clifford           WCS Racing Team     WV50 01:14:36

39        Gregory Jessop            Otley CC         V50     01:15:01

40        Michael Cox   North Lancs CC          V70     01:15:24

41        Lee Mitchell    Team Burn Machine   V40     01:16:05

42        Andrew Bolton           Otley CC         V40     01:16:39

43        Liz Ball           Valley Striders Cycling Club  WV60 01:19:25

DNF    Brian Whitehead         Otley CC         V40    

Tandem: Lesley Campbell and Stuart Watson (Colomba CC) 01:04:46