Weekend Round-up, July 6-7 2019

Share this post:

Vicky Gill (DRAG2ZERO) and Marcin Bialoblocki (NOPINZ) were crowned National 100-Mile Time Trial Champions after the title race took place in Yorkshire on Sunday.

Good conditions made for fast times across the country and the title race was no exception, with many riders setting new personal best times.

Second last year, Gill stepped up to win the Women’s prize at the National 100 with an impressive time of 4-02-12. That was three minutes quicker than last year’s winner and team-mate Alice Lethbridge.

Bialoblocki continued his great recent form, adding the National 100 crown to the National 50 and Circuit Championship win he has already secured this season.

His time of 3-24-55 was more than nine minutes quicker than runner-up Adam Wild (GS Metro).

Stephanie Post

“It almost all went perfectly,” said Bialoblocki. “A couple of times I had to slow down at the roundabouts for traffic, but I didn’t stress.”

Meanwhile, Gill said: “I was over the moon to get the win and I’m really pleased. I came second last year and said after that race that I wanted to win it one year.”

Elsewhere, Tom Ward (AeroLab Ward Wheelz) was quickest at the Welsh CA 30-Mile Championships, clocking 59-28 to win by just six seconds from Conrad Moss (NOPINZ), while Stephanie Post (Team Bottrill) was quickest of the women in 1-04-53.

James Cadman (Hounslow & District Wheelers) won the Reading CC Clive Pugh Memorial 25 at Padworth in Berkshire. He clocked 53-23 to win by just three seconds from Team Bottrill’s David Triska, while Anastasia Bowler (AS Test Team) was the winning woman in 56-23.

In Scotland Doug Watson (GTR-Return to Life) won the Law Wheelers 25 near Stirling. His time of 50-47, which was almost three minutes quicker than team-mate Chris Smart. And tenth overall was first woman Joanna Patterson (Fusion Tri Club) with 57-52.

Sam Wadsley

Velo One Cycling Team rider Roland Kiraly was quickest in the Lincoln Wheelers charity 10 near Ingham on Saturday.

He clocked 20-11, winning by six seconds from Billy Jarish (Rose RT), while Ian Guilor (Mapperley CC) was third. Karen Seal (Lincoln Wheelers) was fastest woman in 27-20, winning by 1-08 from Sleaford Wheelers’ Martha Wilson.

And David Crisp (3T Racing) was quickest in the API-Metrow Zak Carr Memorial 25 near Boxford in Suffolk on Sunday. His time of 57-14 was25 seconds better than runner-up John Bradbury (CC Sudbury).

Kirsty McSeveney and Samuel Wadsley powered to victory in the Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 25-mile open time-trial on Sunday morning.

Primera-TeamJobs rider Wadsley’s time of 50-39 gave him the win by 1-27 from Greg Parker (Estrella Bikes), while McSeveney (a3crg) covered the course at Lytchett Matravers in 58-46.

Steven Burke (Team Wallis Race Team) took a 20-second victory in the Valley Striders CC 25 on Saturday, while Sarah Lewthwaite (Team Sportslab) won the women’s event.

Sarah Lewthwaite

Burke clocked 52-52 to beat Richard Dean (Rockingham CC) into second, while in-form Lewthwaite set a time of 1-02-29 to win the women’s category by almost seven minutes.

And at the Liverpool Phoenix CC 25 in Merseyside Phil Ellison (Thatto Cycles) and Lindsey Styler (Mersey Tri Club) were victorious.

Ellison’s tome of 53-37 gave him victory by just over a minute, while Styler clocked 1-01-17 to win by almost five minutes.

In Sunday’s Border City Wheelers 25 victory went to Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC) by just one second from Philip Jones (Transition RT). Charlotte Boothman (ABC Centreville) took a predictable victory in the women’s event near Cockermouth.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* See the individual event listings for more detailed reports on these and other time trials.