Weekend Round-up, May 11-12 2019

Share this post:

Kyle Gordon topped the men’s timesheets in Castle Douglas and Katie Archibald MBE took the women’s category prize with strong rides in round four of the Sigma Sports Classic Time Trial Series in Scotland.

Gordon (RT 23) made the most of an unexpected change in conditions on Sunday to beat current series leader Adam Wild to victory with a time of 54-48.

And Archibald comfortably won the women’s category with a time of 1-02-44 which gave her the win by 1-47 from national hill-climb champion Fiona Burnie (GS Metro).

Victoria Smith

Elsewhere, Chris Boddy (AeroCoach) was a convincing winner of the Sportzmad 10 on the fast R25/3h course in South Wales. He covered the Rhigos course in 46-54 to win by 1-21 from Ben Elliot (C and N Cycles), while the fastest woman was another AeroCoach rider, Victoria Smith, who clocked 52-03 to win by 1-16 from Drag2zero’s Liz Powell.

In Devon, the Westbury Wheelers 26 at Kilmington was won by James Coleman (Rogue Racing) in 58-55, while Lauren Johnston (Avid Sport) was quickest of the women in 1-06-43.

In North Yorkshire Bronte Wheelers’ rider Stephen Ayres clocked 50-14 for the Topcliffe course to win the Drighlington BC 25 by 1-01 from Steven Burke (Team Wallis RT), while the quickest of the women on the V236/1 was Fiona Sharp (Team Swift) in 58-30.

Stephen Ayres

The Mid-Shropshire Wheelers 50-mile event on Sunday was greeted by glorious cloudless sky and ideal conditions, which helped Kirk Vickers (Holohan Coaching) take the win with 1-51-43, while Tara Grosvenor (Velo Vitesse) was quickest woman in 2-08-40 on her first attempt at the distance.

Despite breezy conditions the Newbury RC 25 at Padworth in Berkshire saw some fast times, the best of which was Charlie Bailey (Hillingdon Slipstreamers) in 51-59, giving him the win by 26 seconds from Simon Bowler (AS Test Team).

Michelle Ayres (South Bucks RC) was quickest woman, the 59-year-old covering the H25/1 in 1-05-36.

Near Oakford in Devon Josh Coyne (BPM Coaching) was the winner of the Revo Racing 25-mile event. His time of 57-18 gave him the win by nine seconds from Lubos Obornik (CS Dynamo), while Rebecca Cornwall (Taw Velo) was fastest female in 1-04-34.

Derby Mercury Road Club’s Liam Bosley clocked 21-19 to win the Bourne Wheelers 10 near Sleaford on Sunday, just one second ahead of James Ison (Melton Olympic). Team Swift’s Sally Withey was quickest woman in 27-18.

Kerry Gowland

Adam Duggleby was the only rider to go under 20 minutes, while Kerry Gowland won the women’s prize at the Cleveland Wheelers 10-mile time trial in County Durham on Saturday.

Duggleby, the 34-year-old Vive le Velo rider from Leeds, bagged his latest win with a time of 19-39 to give him victory by 25 seconds from Keith Murray (Drag2zero), while Gowland (Houghton CC) clocked 24-36 to win the women’s category by almost three minutes from Kate Sanderson (Cleveland Wheelers).

Matt Moorhouse and Anna Turvey were fastest male and female riders respectively at Sunday’s Border City Wheelers hilly 29-mile time trial in Cumbria.

And former national championship medallist Emily Robertson returned to winning ways as John Wingfield topped the men’s timesheet in the North Road CC 25 in Cambridgeshire on Saturday.

Sarah Grant

In Northumberland Venda-Louise Pollock was fastest woman while Michael Gill was overall quickest at the Tyne and Wear Fire Service CC 12-mile time trial near Stamfordham in Northumberland on Saturday.

And In Derbyshire Sarah Grant, Leon Wright and George Elliott all broke course records on their way to wins at the South Pennine Road Club 10-mile time trial on Saturday.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* See the individual event listings for more detailed reports on these and other time trials.