Weekend Round-up, Apr 27-28

Share this post:

Less than 24 hours after rough weather had caused the cancellation of several time trials, course records fell and there were some great performances in time trials across the country on Sunday.

Saturday’s high winds had largely disappeared in time for Sunday’s action, which included several title races.

In Sussex Keith Ainsworth (Sheffrec CC) and Angela Carpenter (a3crg) were crowned VTTA National 10 Champions after a hard fought competition.

Victoria Smith

Ainsworth, aged 60, was crowned the men’s champion clocking a time of 21 minutes and seven seconds around the loop accumulating a standard result of +6.32.

He was chased home by younger rival Neil Mackley (a3crg) whose slightly slower scratch time of 21.16 gave him a +5.56.

In the women’s event Carpenter’s time of 23.02 was enough for the win with a plus of +6.04 ahead of Matthew (+5.28).

Fastest tandem was Ian Greenstreet (AeroCoach) and Rachael Elliot (Newbury RC) who finished in 20.56 giving them a standard of +5.43.

Douglas Watson and Victoria Smith were the fastest male and female respectively at the CTT Scotland District Championships, staged by Glasgow Nightingale CC 10 near Westferry.

Watson (GTR – Return to Life) clocked a time of 19-23 to set the fastest time by any rider and clinch the top prize.

Chris Fennell

And Smith (AeroCoach) was the fastest female and seventh overall, clocking a time of 20-44 to claim the top step on the podium with a women’s course record time.

In Kent Chris Fennell (The Independent Pedaler) smashed his own course record by a minute and a half in the VTTA Kent 30 while Andrew Meilak (VeloRefined.com) was the fastest veteran on standard.

Fennell, aged 23, clocked a winning time of one hour and 18 seconds along the A2070 out and back course near Ashford. Fastest woman was Charmaine Pullen (Folkestone Velo) who clocked a winning time of 1:16.24.

Ioan Smallwood (Cardiff Ajax CC) and Stephanie Post (Team Bottrill) were the fastest male and female riders in the Welsh CA hilly 21-mile time trial which took place on a revised course near Crickhowell, Powys, on Sunday.

Sarah Lewthwaite

Smallwood was a clear winner of the men's contest with an impressive 46:09 for the 21.3-mile revised course. Chris Gibbard (Bynea CC) was second fastest with 47:58. The women’s competition was won by Stephanie Post (Team Bottrill) with 54:20, while Michelle Fishbourne (CES Sport) was runner up with 1:03:11.

In East Sussex Joscelin Lowden (The Independent Pedaler) was fastest woman in both Saturday’s East Sussex CA 10 and their 25-mile event on Sunday too.

The 31-year-old from London continued her great recent form, clocking 21-51 for the 10-mile event where Simon Mcnamara (South Downs Bikes) was fastest male with 20-15, while on Sunday Lowden covered the course near Maresfield in 55-42 to win by over six minutes, while Howard Shaw (trainSharp) was overall winner with 52-17.

There was a course record performance in East Yorkshire, with Sarah Lewthwaite (Team Sportslab) clocking 1-01-47 in the Vive le Velo 25 near Bridlington, while Richard Sharp (Team Swift) was fastest male with 52-40.

And in Hampshire Alice Lethbridge and Chris Bartley were the fastest male and female respectively at the Charlotteville CC 50 near Bentley.

The Best British All-Rounder event attracted a strong field of riders and time-trialling ace Lethbridge (Drag2Zero) finish her run with a time of 1-56-45. Bartley (AS Test Team) finished his run with a time of 1-41-22.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* See the individual event listings for more detailed reports on these and other time trials.