New Years Day preview

Share this post:


Well here we go again a new season gets underway with a couple of events for those who enjoy shaking off those Christmas cobwebs.

The CC Breckland promote their 10-mile time trial at Besthorpe on the A11 at 11am. Would not like to pick a winner but Stuart Fairweather (Team Velovelocity), Mark Richards (DAP CC), Chris Womack (VC Baracchi), Mark Ready (Diss & District CC) and Espoir Thomas Payne (Tri Anglia) will be looking for podium places. There is a two-up battle for the Women’s honours with Stephanie Hoyle (Godric CC) and Jo Fisk (Ride Harder) the lone entries.

Allowing for a late night on New Year’s Eve, the Cardiff 100 Miles RCC start their 9.8-mile event at 1.34pm at St Brides Major.

Steven Cottingham (Bath CC), Chris Smith (Cwmcarn Paragon) and Andy Davies (Cardiff Jif) ride while Carol Bridge (Rhondda Tri Club) is one of the three women riding.

Meanwhile Cycling Time Trials wishes all competitors and supporters a safe and happy 2019.

Words by David Taylor