Weekend Time Trial Round-up, June 9-10

Share this post:

Dan Bigham and Katie Archibald were the fastest male and female riders respectively as the National Circuit Championships were staged in Yorkshire on Saturday afternoon.

Bigham clocked 36-47 to take the win by 20 seconds, and he also led a clean sweep of the podium for Ribble Pro Cycling with John Archibald and Simon Wilson being second and third.

National Circuit Champions

Katie Archibald, the 24-year-old from Glasgow who has won multiple Olympic, Commonwealth and World medals, took the win ahead of Alice Lethbridge (DRAG2ZERO), the Wiggle High 5 rider clocking 42-16 for the course which was 35 seconds better than Lethbridge.

The championship doubled up as the sixth and final round of the Knight Composites Classic TT Series. Dean Robson finished 15th, which was enough for him to clinch the overall series win in the men’s competition.

In the women’s series, Kelly Murphy (C2 Racing) and Jessica Rhodes Jones (Beacon Roads CC) both did not start. Murphy has won the overall series.

In Oxfordshire, competition record holder Marcin Bialoblocki smashed the course record to win the Didcot Phoenix CC 25-mile time trial on the H25/17 course on the A420 between Cumnor and Faringdon.

Mark Turnbull

His time of 45:49 gave him a winning margin of more than three minutes over second-placed rider Tim Cartwright of Newbury RC (49:08).

First woman was Suzy Patience of Banbury Star CC with a time of 1:02:34, while Deborah Davidson (Mickey Cranks) took second place with a time of 1:03:40.

In Cheshire, Mel Lowther (Storey Racing) and Mark Turnbull (TORQ Performance) were fastest in the Janus Road Club 25 near Goostrey.

Katie Greves

Lowther’s 59-00 was 1-09 quicker than team-mate Monica Dew, while Turnbull was victorious by 32 seconds with his time of 51-35, with Andy Wilkinson (Port Sunlight Wheelers) second.

AS Test Team colleagues Chris Bartley and Katie Greves were fastest male and female riders respectively as Hampshire Road Club staged a 25-mile time trial near Greatham on Sunday.

34-year-old Bartley covered the P881 course in 46-50 to take the win by 1-38 from Gary Chambers (NOPINZ) while third was Ken Buckley (Spokes BPC) who was 2-17 off Bartley’s pace.

Greves clocked 53-16 to finish as fastest female by almost two and a half minutes from Eastbourne Rovers rival Ruth Summerford, while Elise Sherwell (Blazing Saddles) was third.

Kieron Davies

Keiron Davies and Andrea Parish took men’s and women’s victories in the Bynea CC 50-mile time trial just outside Glynneath on Sunday morning.

Welsh national 10 and 25-mile champion Keiron Davies (Drag2Zero) powered to a good win by a margin of over five minutes, clocking 1-40-45 to leave Chris Gibbard (Bynea) second.

Andrea Parish (VeloSistas TT Team) was fastest female, clocking 2-09-03.

And in Bedfordshire Daniel Watts broke the 20-minute barrier for the first time on his way to victory in the Bedfordshire Roads CC 10-mile time trial near Tempsford, while Anna Muir (Chelmer CC) was fastest female.

Darryl Wall

In Nottinghamshire, Darryl Wall (Out of the Saddle CC) was fastest in the Bolsover and District CC 10. He was the only rider under the 20-minute mark with 19-58, while Karen Ledger (Team Bottrill-Vanguard) was fastest woman with 22-17.

And in Devon, Paul Walshe (Plymouth Corinthian CC) won the CS Dynamo 10 by just four seconds with a time of 21-02, while Wiebke Rietz (1st Chard Wheelers) was fastest woman.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* See the individual event listings for more detailed reports on these and other time trials.