Weekend preview 14 / 15 April

Share this post:

Sunday sees the Beacon RCC promote the third leg of the 2018 Knight Composites Classic TT Series at Shelsley Walsh, Worcestershire. Most of the current overall leaders are present defending their positions in the points tables.

Rob Walker (Cambridge University CC) heads the Men’s listings but will face a challenge from Dean Robson (Northover VT-Rudy Project) and Carl Donaldson (GS Metro) this time out while Matthew Bottrill (Team Bottrill-Vanguard) will also be a problem, although he has been a DNS in the previous rounds. Walker also defends his place as leading Espoir so far this year.


The Women include Kelly Murphy (C2 Racing) and Jessica Rhodes-Jones (Beacon RCC), who head the current points table. Nicola Juniper (NJC-Biemme-Echelon) and Elizabeth-Jane Harris (Boot Out Breast Cancer CC), both very experienced road riders, Lauren Creamer (Brotherton Cycles) and Victoria Smith (AeroCoach) are all potential candidates for the podium. Jackie Field (CC Ashwell) is on hand to protect her place as leading Woman Veteran. 

Jessica Rhodes-Jones


Veteran Peter Nicholls (Race Hub) took the first two rounds in his class and will be chasing number three facing a strong challenge from the likes of Danny Axford (Artic-Tacx RT), Ben Lane (GS Metro) and Team Bottrill’s Lee Morgan and James Rix.


David Murphy (Liverpool Mercury-Dolan CC) is the lone Paracyclist entered while Adam Jarps (Team Bottrill) will be looking to take the lead in the Junior table with one win under his belt already.

Adam Jarps


All riders face a tough 37 miles in this Little Mountain Time Trial. Past winners include Bob Maitland, Arthur Ilsley, Ray Booty, World Amateur Champion Graham Webb and more recently Stuart Dangerfield (seven wins to his credit). Matthew Bottrill, Matt Clinton and Dean Robson.


Event HQ   is at the Café in the Shelsley Walsh Motor Racing Circuit where riders finish on a 1,000 yards hill-climb, venue for this years National Hill Climb Championship. Racing gets underway at 8.00 with the last rider off at 10.14.




Plenty on elsewhere Saturday and Sunday. Philip Graves (NOPINZ) and Shaun Tyson (Adept Cycling) ride the Cleveland Wheelers Sporting 18-mile event: Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 40-kilometre time trial for Road or TT Bikes has Dave Dent (GS Stella) and Simon Berogna (VC St Raphael); Danny Grieves (GS Metro), Harry Walker (Revolver Racing) and Junior Adam Jarps (Team Bottrill-Vanguard) are down for the North Tyneside Riders CC `10` while Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest) tries for the Kent Valley RC `30`.

Kieron Davies (NOPINZ) and Philip Tucker (Cycle Specific) ride the Bynea CC 30-mile event; Paceline RT’s Pat Wright contests the Southern Counties CU `25` as do Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) and Simon McNamara (South Downs Bikes); Andy Jackson (AeroCoach), Stephen Irwin (North Lancs RC), Richard Sharp (York Cycleworks), Stuart Travis (Team Bottrill), Sue Cheatham (North Lancs RC) and Karen Ledger (Team Bottrill) compete in the BDCA `25`.


Don’t forget you can find start sheets for all these events on our website.