Knight Composites Classic Series Round 4 Preview

Share this post:

The TT Series takes to new pastures this weekend when it moves on to Scotland for the Jason Macintyre Memorial Trophy at Ballachulish. Some 62 riders compete, mostly from Scottish clubs, Men, Espoirs, Women, and Veterans.

Heading the Men’s listing is current Series leader Jack Rebours  (Caesarean CC Jersey) , who could well seal his overall victory this time out. Apart from the Scottish challenge which includes John Archibald (Pro Vision Cycle Clothing) and Chris Smart (GTR), who both have 19 minute “10” pb’s,  Team Bottrill-HSS Hire’s George Evans and Daniel Halksworth are Series regulars looking for a top placing.


In the Women’s competition Jackie Field (CC Ashwell) is among the 11 entered and she could well take the current overall lead in the absence of Hayley Simmonds who tops their points table with 180 points thanks to her successes in the first three rounds of the TT Series. Field has 162 points. Lynsey Curran (Dooleys RT) will be out to take this rounds honours, fastest on paper and with local knowledge being ad advantage.

Veterans Joe Le Sage (Rutland CC) and Daryl May (Sheffrec CC) compete looking to improve on their third and fourth places overall in the absence of current leader Danny Axford (Arctic Tacx RT), The Scottish challenge should come from Jon Entwistle (GTR) who also has a 19 minute 10 to his name and Angus Wilson (Dundee Thistle)


With just three juniors taking to the start line including the current leader and runner up in the overall standings, Adam Robertson (Verulam CC) and Zak Coleman (Team Representing the Scottish district is Alexander Dent (Nevis Cycles Racing Team)

The riders face a “Sporting” 17.8-mile course that takes them round Loch Leven, the organisers recommend a bottom gear of 39x23. Event headquarters are at Ballachulish Community Centre, Loan Fern PH49 4JB.

Scottish superman Graeme Obree will be on hand for the prize giving.