BATH CYCLING CLUB

"HILLY" 24 MILE TIME TRIAL

19th March 2017



This is a counting event for the WTTA Hardrider Series

(web site: <u>www.wtta-hardriders.org.uk</u>)

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations Event Secretary: Time Keepers

	DRIZES	
SpringHillyTT@bathcc.net	Bath BA2 4LS	Tony Thorne
Email:	Lyncombe Vale Road	<u>Chief Marshal</u>
Tel: 07767 448668	Brookdene	Dennis Davis
	David Summers	Paul Arayan
<u>Event Secretary.</u>		<u>Time Reepers</u>

FHIZES							
1 st	0:57:32	Dean Robson	£50	1 st woman	1:09:34	Nicole Walters	£50
2 nd	0:58:09	Rob Pears	1	1 st Team	0:58:09	Rob Pears	£25
3 rd	1:00:16	James Cook	£40	Bath CC	1:02:57	Simon Ker	£25
4 th	1:00:24	Josh Griffiths	£30		1:03:58	Steven Cottington	£25
1 st target	+8:20	Rob Pears	£40		3:05:04		
2 nd target	+6:07	Rick Johnston	£30				
3 rd target	+2:43	Jonathan Griffin	£20				

Commentry

Thank you for riding today, I hope you all enjoyed the event, amonst the hardrider events, the Bath CC event is one of the more chalanging, so congratuations to all that finished. I believe today that the last 3 miles, from Longbridge Devrill back to Maiden Bradley were the worst – which large head wind.

From my perspective, there were a number of highlights. Marshaling at the first RAB, and watching Dean having to track stand to get on the RAB, and yet still going on to win the event, was good to see – as well as Rob being fastest man round the RAB!

The tandem in the event, arriving at the first RAB in two halves!

I was impressed by the number of BSCC teams, four in total, of which three finished, coming $2^{nd} 3^{rd}$ and 6^{th} in the team competition. Bath CC though won out in the team competition, with four fast to very fast riders – just needed to see which three came in highest.

The competition between the BSCC women, with only a few seconds between them – it will be interesting to see how it develops over the season.

It is good to see that in the first 4 riders, there was a Junior, and Espoir, a Senior and a Vet – and so the ages are well matched. It is good that the Junior and Espoir came in the top four, and so won a prize – with only one rider in each of those categories, there was no specific prize from them – but good that they featured in the overall.

I hope you'll all come back next year, to enjoy our hills again.

Left clothing (etc) at the HQ

The following was left at the HQ, please contact to organiser to claim:

- Battery pack to charge Garmin etc.
- Large Water Bottle
- Packlite Shell waterproof
- Castelli waterproof
- Montane fleece
- Half a pair of leg warmers

Do claim if they are yours, I'd like to get them back to their owners.

¹One prize per rider means this prize flows downward.

					On
	Name	Club	Cat	Result	Target
1	Dean Robson	Northover VT / Rudy Project	S	0:57:32	
2	Rob Pears	Bath Cycling Club	V5	0:58:09	+8:20
3	James Cook	Cycology Bikes	Espoir	1:00:16	
4	Josh Griffiths	Bristol South Cycling Club	J	1:00:24	
5	Tony Chapman	Frome and District Wheelers	V4	1:01:33	+0:41
	Christopher Philpott	Salt and Sham Cycle Club	S	DSQ^2	
6	Simon Ker	Bath Cycling Club	S	1:02:57	
7	Nick Livermore	Bristol South Cycling Club	S	1:03:25	
8	Steven Cottington	Bath Cycling Club	V5	1:03:58	+2:31
9	Jonathan Griffin	Cycology Bikes	V5	1:04:15	+2:43
10	Ruan Bester	Bath Cycling Club	S	1:04:20	
11	Paul Jones	Bristol South Cycling Club	V4	1:04:48	-4:48
12	Gareth Jones	Clevedon & District Road Club	V4	1:04:49	-2:07
13	Nick Young	Yeovil Cycling Club	V5	1:05:40	-0:09
14	Peter Garnett	Swindon Road Club	V4	1:05:43	-2:34
15	Rick Johnston	Northover VT / Rudy Project	V6	1:06:28	+6:07
16	Daniel Kempe	Bristol South Cycling Club	V5	1:06:34	-1:32
17	Daniel Alford	Bristol South Cycling Club	S	1:06:40	
18	Jim Beales	Dursley Road Club	V5	1:07:26	-2:52
	Jeff Lawrence	Salt and Sham Cycle Club	V4	DSQ ³	
19	Owen Burgess	Chippenham & District Wheelers	S	1:07:54	
20	Michael Young	Velo Club Walcot	S	1:08:45	
21	Mike Gibbons	Chippenham & District Wheelers	V4	1:08:46	-4:41
22	Chris Leng	Velo Club Walcot	V4	1:08:49	-7:02
23	Andrew Turner	Bristol South Cycling Club	S	1:08:53	
24	Tim Reed	Somer Valley Cycling Club	S	1:09:11	
25	Luke Smith	Bristol South Cycling Club	V4	1:09:22	-5:45
26	Nicole Walters	Oldfield Oldboys	W	1:09:34	
27	Paul Winchcombe	Chippenham & District Wheelers	V5	1:10:54	-2:57
28	John Gregory	Somer Valley Cycling Club	V6	1:11:28	+2:11

29 James Currie	Chippenham & District Wheelers	V4	1:11:31	-11:05
30 Chris Broad-Drake	Swindon Road Club	V5	1:11:54	-2:57
31 Ian Mountjoy	Bristol South Cycling Club	V4	1:11:57	-7:52
32 Nick Gurmin	Severn Road Club	V5	1:12:40	-4:43
33 Andrew Diffey	Somer Valley Cycling Club	V4	1:13:42	-9:37
34 Steve Clarke	Bristol South Cycling Club	V5	1:13:47	-7:18
35 Joanne Jago	Performance Cycles CC	W	1:14:19	
36 Paul Freegard	Chippenham & District Wheelers	V6	1:15:55	-6:27
37 Joanna Knight	Bristol South Cycling Club	WV	1:17:31	-5:28
38 Christina Gyles	Bristol South Cycling Club	W	1:17:39	
39 Michael Bedford	Velo Club Walcot	V5	1:18:35	-12:06
40 Jennifer Lemen-Hogarth	Velo Club St Raphael	W	1:20:57	
41 Iain Messider	Gillingham and District Wheelers	V5	1:22:49	-13:52
Russell Peace	Dursley Road Club	S	DNF	
Andrew Bradshaw	Bristol South Cycling Club	V4	DNF	
Jay Hookins	Velo Club Cycling	S	DNS	
Michael Ford	Velo Club St Raphael	S	DNS	
Paul Ransome	Carnac-Planet X	S	DNS-Apol	
Tavis Walker	DRK Racing	S	DNS-Apol	
Robert Grover	Velo Club Walcot	S	DNS-Apol	
Darren Edwards	Bath Cycling Club	V4	DNS-Apol	
Steven Barber	VTTA West Group	V4	DNS-Apol	
Jimmy Jones	Team Swindon Cycles	V4	DSQ ⁴	

²Rider did a 1:02:37 time, however entered tandem event, and did not sign out ³Rider did a 1:07:29 time, however entered tandem event, and did not sign out

⁴Rider disqualified for breach of Reg 21.