

Reading Cycling Club

The Colin Roberts Memorial 10mile time trial on the H10/1 Woolhampton – Thatcham course at 2pm on Saturday 28th July 2018

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations In the interests of your own safety; Cycling Time Trials strongly advises you to wear a hard shell helmet that meets an internationally accepted safety standard (a "safe" helmet)

Organiser: Rob Thompson 5 Greenfields Road, Reading. RG2 8SF. 07885719750.

R081et@googlemail.com

Timekeepers: Marion Fountain & Mick Fountain – Both Didcot Phoenix CC

Event HQ: Aldermaston C. of E. Primary School (note, not the Village hall of last year)

Wasing Lane, Aldermaston RG7 4LX

Event Team: Ray Bennet, Wendy Bennett, Steph Bird, Andy Brady, Gaye Brodie, Pat Brown,

Christina Demetriou, Sam Elwell, Marion Fountain, Mick Fountain, Tom Fricker, Mike Manning, Brian Perry, Richard Pike, Jordan Sanders & Rob Thompson. *Many thanks to*

all!

Report: Arrival at HQ for the event team saw a sharp shower and decidely breezy, but the wind

was picking up and by event start was quite strong and notably blustery wind from the

South West.

The blustery wind seemed to affect different riders in different ways, an early started reported the course as seeming really quick, thinking they were largely sheltered from the headwind on the out leg, but benefitting on the return, but others reporting it generally difficult. A number of riders with deeper front wheels struggled with the crosswinds, and this resulted in 3 DNFs – safety first.

The time keepers, Mick Fountain (finish) and Marion Fountain (start) kept things running and we were ably helped by a number of volunteer helpers listed above, many thanks to them all. The competitors and event team fuelled and warmed with teas and coffees and did a good job of eating most of the cake etc provided – Special thanks to Steph Bird for running the kitchen smoothly.

The solo event had 3 finishers inside 21 minutes, though 1 had a time penalty due to a late start. The winner was Matthew Buckley (Andover Wheelers) in 20:02, just 15 seconds ahead of second placed Nick English (AeroCoach) in 20:17 and just outside 21 minutes, Greg Woodford (Reading CC) came 3rd in 21:01.

In the women's event the winner was Melanie Sneddon (TORQ Performance) with 23:11, Abigail Vyner (Rapha Cycling Club) came in second in 25:42 and third was Laura Walker (Team Bottrill / Vanguard) in 26:00.

The veterans category winner was Greg Woodford (Reading CC) with +6:19, 2nd place Rod MacFadyen (Reading CC) with +5:36, with Richard Williams (Farnham RC) 3rd in +5:09.

Two teams of 3 completed the course, Reading CC (Woodford, Burton & MacFadyen) 1:03:54 beating Team Bottrill / Vanguard (Knight, Walker & Walker) with 1:12:21.

Prizes will be sent out by post shortly.

Thank you to all the riders who turned up, I hope you enjoyed the event despite the best efforts of nature. My special thanks go to all the entrants,

timekeepers, helpers and marshalls that contributed their effort to making the event run smoothly, and remaining cheerful despite getting blown around for the afternoon. I hope to see you all again next year.

Results table:

Position						
overall	RIDER	CLUB	TIME	VET +-	No.	Notes
1	Matthew Buckley	Andover Wheelers	20:02		20	O 1st
2	Nick English	AeroCoach	20:17		10	O 2 nd
3	Greg Woodford	Reading CC	21:01	6:19+	60	O 3 rd , V 1 st , Team
4	Richard Burton	Reading CC	21:09	4:55+	41	Team
5	Michael Knight	Team Bottrill / Vanguard	21:19		25	
6	Dean Kirkwood	Kingston Wheelers CC	21:42	4:22+	11	
7	Rod MacFadyen	Reading CC	21:44	5:36+	5	V 2 nd , Team
8	James Cadman	Hounslow & District Whs	21:44		15	
9	James Churchard	Reading CC	21:49	4:15+	50	
10	Richard Moore	WyndyMilla	22:04	4:23+	55	
11	Mark Duncan	a3crg	22:15	4:08+	21	
12	Richard Llewellyn	Imperial Racing Team	22:38	3:40+	23	
13	Stuart Gourley	Radeon-Cycology RT	23:04		47	
14	Stuart Carver	North Hampshire RC	23:10	3:49+	42	
15	Melanie Sneddon	TORQ Performance	23:11	5:00+	45	F 1 st
16	Alan Allcock	Didcot Phoenix CC	23:30	4:29+	65	
17	Chris Aitken	Thames Valley Triathletes	23:57		56	
18	Craig Nilsson	Rye & District Wheelers CC	23:58		16	
19	Adrian Feek	Bath Road Club	24:02	2:43+	12	
20	Paul James	VTTA West Group	24:07	2:25+	57	
21	Nick Mccormick	Epsom CC	24:09	3:00+	36	
22	Gavin Mitchell	Twickenham CC	24:17		13	
23	John Mcglashan	Redmon CC	24:26	4:06+	7	
24	Richard Williams	Farnham RC	24:44	5:09+	17	V 3 rd
25	Scott Walker	Team Bottrill / Vanguard	25:02		30	Late start +4:45
26	Graham Morrison	Newbury RC	25:11	1:12+	33	
27	Roger Taylor	Frome and District Wheelers	25:12	4:14+	22	
28	Tom Woollard	Northover VT / Rudy Project	25:16	4:10+	27	
29	Robert Hutchinson	Bristol South Cycling Club	25:27	2:56+	28	
30	Reza Gorjestani	Hillingdon Triathletes	25:27	1:00+	61	
31	Nicholas Cosgreave	Farnborough & Camberley CC	25:29	2:09+	63	
32	Andy Cole	Frome and District Whs	25:33	3:09+	18	
33	Robert Briggs	Didcot Phoenix CC	25:38	2:28+	37	
34	Abigail Vyner	Rapha Cycling Club	25:42	2:59+	53	F 2 nd
35	Laura Walker	Team Bottrill / Vanguard	26:00	2:11+	43	F 3 rd
36	Mark Montgomery	Tamar Velo	26:17	0:08-	34	
37	Rachel Green	Cheltenham & County CC	27:04	2:17+	54	
38	Chris Summers	Sotonia CC	27:23	1:00+	8	
39	Mary-jane Hutchinson	Bristol South Cycling Club	27:39	2:12+	44	
40	Robert Jolliffe	New Forest CC	27:45	0:38+	14	
41	John Eames	Chippenham & District Whs	27:56	1:18+	38	
42	Chris Brewer	Redmon CC	28:08	0:48-	29	
43	Les Gardner	Maidenhead & District CC	29:31	0:17-	9	
44	Bob Brabbins	Wellington Whs Cycling Club	30:39	0:32-	19	