CTT MATTERS NEWSLETTER

JUNE 2014

RTTC National Championship 12 27 July 2014

Due to circumstances outside the control of Cycling Time Trials and the event organisers, it has been necessary to change both the date and the location of the 2014 12 hour Championship.

The 2014 RTTC National Championship 12 hour will now be the Team Swift event on Sunday 27 July 2014.

The WCTTCA 12 hour which was scheduled to be held on 17 August will now be on 31 August.

Junior Champion of Champions Competitions

There is a new Junior Women competition which will start this year (2014).

The competition is open to all Junior Women. The competition comprises five qualifying events each year, the Junior 10 miles, Junior 25 miles, Junior circuit, Junior closed circuit and Hill Climb championships.

To be eligible for this competition a minimum of three out of five events must be completed.

Points will be awarded for placing in each event with 1 point for first place, 2 for second, 3 for third and so on. All competitors in each event will receive points.

The rider's best three performances will count, the rider with the lowest total from her three events being declared the winner. In the event of a tie the rider's 4th highest placing will be used to determine the winner.

There is also a change to the Chris Boardman Trophy conditions

It too will now be 3 events from five.

The Competition is open to all Junior men.

The competition comprises of five qualifying events each year, the Junior 10 miles, Junior 25 miles, Junior circuit, Junior Closed Circuit and Hill Climb championships.

To be eligible for this competition a minimum of three out of the five events must be completed.

Points will be awarded for placing in each event with 1 point for first place, 2 for second, 3 for third and so on. All competitors in each event will receive points.

The rider's best three performances will count, the rider with the lowest total from his three events being declared the winner. In the event of a tie the rider's 4th highest placing will be used to determine the winner.

Start sheets by email

Organisers are respectfully reminded that all start sheets sent by e-mail should include all the required information as outlined in Regulation 27 (e) on page 328 of the 2014 handbook.

When sending start sheets by email please use the BCC function so as not to distribute the email addresses of all the entrants to each other.

Any spreadsheets should only contain information relevant to the starting order.

Riders' personal information/addresses should not be included or distributed.

CTT insurance

This statement, or similar, has appeared on a number of start sheets.

<u>Please note:</u> Cycling Time Trials have stipulated to clarify that competitor to competitor insurance claims are not covered under CTT insurance policies.

This is <u>not</u> the case. Since November 2012 the CTT insurance will indemnify a competitor in the event of a claim made against him/her by another competitor arising from an incident that took place during the course of a time trial held under CTT Rules and Regulations.

Gold Badges 2014

In recognition of outstanding services to Cycling Time Trials, Gold Badges have been awarded to:

George Barker (Yorkshire District)

Norman James (South Wales District)

Current suspensions

The following riders are currently suspended from competition:

Peter Younghusband (Try UK) until 17 July 2014 (South DC)

Lister Williams (Icknield RC) until 31 August 2014 (London North DC)

John Shilson (Exeter Wh) indefinitely (South West DC)

Paul Murphy (Tyneside Vagabonds CC) sine die (North East DC)

Please could all District Secretaries notify the National Secretary (Legal & Corporate) of any suspensions not listed or if any new suspensions are imposed) (Rule 5 – see page 316 of the 2014 CTT Handbook).