

De Laune CC presents 49th Annual Fred Peachey Memorial 25 Mile Time Trial

To be held on Sunday 20th May, 2018 at 7.31 am on Course Q25/8 (Chilham)
Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations
Event HQ – Challock Memorial Hall, Blind Lane, Challock Lees, Ashford, Kent
ECCA BAR counting event

Awards

1 st Fastest Non Vet	£30.00	1 st Vet on Std £30.00 2 nd Vet on Std £25.00 3 rd Vet on Std £20.00	1 st Lady	£10.00
		4 th Vet on Std £15.00 5 th Vet on Std £10.00 6 th Vet on Std £10.00 7 th Vet on Std £10.00	1 st Junior	£10.00

1st Team of 3 riders on scratch £10.00 each

Fred Peachey Memorial Trophy, to be awarded to the fastest rider on Scratch. Johnson Cup, a perpetual cup to be awarded to the fastest Junior rider.

Event Secretary

Tony Peachey
63 Beverley Road,
Barming,
Maidstone, Kent
ME16 9DU
01622 727649
tonycttsoutheast@gmail.com

Timekeepers

Start – Ian Silvester (De Laune CC) Finish – Paul Mepham (VC Elan – Harry Perry Cycles) John Clegg (VC Elan – Harry Perry Cycles)

Thank you for entering this event. It is run each year as a memorial to Fred Peachey, my father and grandfather to Claire Silvester.

Fred joined the "Gentlemen of the De Laune" in 1952 and worked tirelessly for the Club and our sport in general, until his sudden death in February 1969. Fred served on the De Laune committee undertaking various posts as well as representing the club on the RTTC London South committee, the BCF South East division, the RRA, the Southern RRA and the SCCU. Fred also found time to support all De Laune riders in every aspect of the sport – it didn't matter to him what type of cycling activity club members participated in, so long as it involved two (or three!) wheels. He promoted this open 25 for many years and, as a mark of respect and to honour his memory, club members provided the perpetual trophy that is on offer today to the fastest rider on scratch.

Tony Peachey – Event Secretary

Course Details

Challock - Canterbury - Ashford - Chilham

Start on A.252 east of Molash at corner post of Northdown House at entrance to Shottenden Lane. (TR 032522). Proceed east on A.252 and A.28 to Milton Manor RAB Thanington (6.726 miles). (M) Turn and retrace on A.28 via Chilham fork where bear left (EXTREME CARE) (M) to Spearpoint Corner RAB (17.126 miles). (M) Retrace to Chilham fork where left (M) to rejoin A.252. Proceed westwards to finish approx 290 yards past Chilham Castle Keep entrance (TQ 063535).

No parking within sight of start and finish timekeepers. Anyone proven to be associated with any car parking or turning in the vicinity of the start will be disqualifed from the event. Riders should allow 10 minutes to ride to the start.

Numbers will be available in the HQ from 6 am – please sign on before taking your number and remember to return to the hall to sign off before going home. Tea, coffee and cakes will be available at the HQ upon your return.

Please keep noise to a minimum around the hall – it is Sunday and the local residents may not want to be up as early as you. Remember to remove your cycling shoes before entering the hall.

Rider feedback forms will be available at the HQ by the signing on area. Marshals and riders are encouraged to submit their comments accordingly, with regard to improving the safety of the course. Please hand them to the promoter or any member of the De Laune CC at the event.

In the interests of your safety Cycling Time Trials and the event promoters strongly advise you to wear a hard shell helmet that meets an internationally accepted safety standard. In accordance with Regulations ALL riders under the age of 18 MUST wear a recognised protective hard shell helmet.

It is recommended that a working front and rear light, either flashing or constant, is fitted to your machine in a position visible to other road users, ensure that it is active whilst the machine is in use.

No rider should use a turbo trainer or rollers in the HQ parking area or adjacent roads, and you will be asked to stop using them if found doing so. Failure to comply with this request risks disqualification from the event.

Riders should be aware of Regulation 16 which states 'the number should be centrally positioned below the waist so as to be clearly visible from the rear when in the normal riding position'. A missed number by the timekeepers could result in a missed time for you.

Please remember to keep your head up at all times and enjoy your ride.

My thanks to the following individuals for their assistance in this promotion namely:

Paul Mepham (VC Elan)	Finish Timekeeper		
John Clegg (VC Elan)	Recorder		
Ian Silvester	Start Timekeeper		
Claire Silvester	Signing on		
Mike Peel	Pusher off		
Ann & Mike Hartley	Result Board		
Lyn Adams, Pat Connor	Tea Bar		
John Kavanagh, Brian Saxton, Brian Shambrook	Canterbury turn RAB		
Mick & Debbie Valentine, Alan Constable	Chilham Fork		
Len Brown, Roy Savery, Malc Adams, Alan Rowe	Ashford Spearpoint Corner RAB		

Order of start

No	Name	Club	Cat	Vets Std	Start
1	Steve Carter-Smith	De Laune CC	V	1.10.57	7:31
2	Ben Hilliar	Ashford Roads CC	S		7.32
3	Vernon Thomas	VC Elan	V	1.15.43	7.33
4	Jennifer Fearn	Thanet RC	L/V	1.18.39	7.34
5	Huck Garip	Thanet RC	V	1.7.15	7.35
6	Danny Frost	Folkestone Velo Club	V	1.8.52	7.36
7	Martin Russell	Thanet RC	V	1.8.14	7.37
8	Ernie Mackey	Medway Velo Club	V	1.19.14	7.38
9	Tracy Wilkinson-Begg	Folkestone Velo Club	L/V	1.13.41	7.39
10	Mark Hill	VeloRefined Aerosmiths	V	1.8.02	7.40
11	Stephen Wilkinson	Folkestone Velo Club	V	1.8.26	7.41
12	Simon Henderson	Thanet RC	V	1.9.05	7.42
13	No rider				7.43
14	Paul Griffiths	Thanet RC	V	1.6.39	7.44
15	John Osborn	Folkestone Velo Club	V	1.7.26	7.45
16	Daniel Gooding	Ashford Roads CC	S		7.46
17	Fabien Large	Direct power Cycling Team	J		7.47
18	Paul Kelk	Thanet RC	V	1.8.14	7.48
19	Andy Burrows	Thanet RC	V	1.16.59	7.49
20	Richard Giles	Serpentine Running Club	V	1.6.00	7.50
21	Adrian Hawkins	Thanet RC	V	1.7.50	7.51
22	Mark Wright	VeloRefined Aerosmiths	V	1.7.50	7.52
23	Richard Payn	34th Nomads CC	V	1.8.52	7.53
24	Andy McCall	Thanet RC	V	1.11.16	7.54
25	Tim Kingston	GS Invicta Cycles	V	1.6.39	7.55
26	Mark Doxey	Abellio SFA RT	V	1.7.50	7.56
27	David Twin	Sydenham Wheelers	V	1.8.52	7.57
28	Costin Murray	Ashford Roads CC	V	1.8.14	7.58
29	Dave Mastin	Thanet RC	V	1.11.58	7.59
30	Nic Fennell	Thanet RC	S		8.00
31	Chris Jones	Elite Cycling	V	1.6.51	8.01
32	Chris Bax	PMR @Toachimhouse	V	1.12.20	8.02
33	Paul Kirkness	Thanet RC	V	1.11.36	8.03
34	Barbara Wiles	San Fairy Ann CC	L/V	1.15.25	8.04
35	Antony Bee	Wigmore CC	V	1.8.52	8.05
36	Mark Baker	Abellio SFA RT	V	1.6.51	8.06
37	Bob Giles	PMR @Toachimhouse	V	1.14.36	8.07
38	Charmaine Pullen	Folkstone Velo Club	L/V	1.13.02	8.08
39	Marco Forgione	34 th Nomads CC	V	1.7.38	8.09
40	Mike Piper	Abellio SFA RT	V	1.6.26	8.10
41	Peter Elms	VeloRefined Aerosmiths	V		8.11
42	David Milne	Bigfoot CC	V	1.6.13	8.12
43	Mark Amon	Rye & Dist Whs	V	1.8.39	8.13
44	Mike Coulter	Gravesend CC	V	1.14.06	8.14
45	Andrew Meilak	VeloRefined Aerosmiths	V	1.8.14	8.15