

# CTT MATTERS NEWSLETTER

## **FEBRUARY 2016**

## **National Secretary (Competitions & Development)**

After eight years as the National Secretary (Competitions & Development), and before that eight years as Assistant Secretary (Competitions & Records), Keith Lawton is to retire with effect from 5 August 2016. Keith was a member of the National Committee for many years before that and both Keith and his expertise will be greatly missed. All at CTT wish Keith best wishes for his forthcoming retirement.

Stewart Smith will commence employment with CTT, as Keith's replacement, on 1 May 2016. Many will know Stewart as the organiser of the National Championship hill climbs up Pea Royd Lane in 2009 and 2014. Prior to 1 May, Stewart will attend Classic Series events and National Championships. There will be some "overlap" between Keith and Stewart so as to enable Stewart to "learn the job".

#### **Scotland District**

Following the changes made at the 2015 National Council AGM to the CTT Articles of Association to include reference to Scotland, CTT is pleased to confirm that there is now a new Scotland District. At the time of going to press 33 clubs in Scotland have affiliated to CTT through Scotland District. There is also a healthy calendar of CTT events to be held north of the border.

The Scotland District officials are:

Chairman: Willie Cosh

14, Lounsdale Avenue, Paisley, Renfrewshire. PA2 9LT wcosh007@btinternet.com

Hon. Secretary: Bill McMillan

14 Southannan Road, Fairlie, Largs, North Ayreshire

01475 568 782 wroseholm@aol.com

Hon. Treasurer: Ian Manson

81 Kilpatrick Avenue, Paisley. PA2 9EA iamanson2@gmail.com

Asst. Hon. Secretary: Linda Smith

34 Cyprus Avenue, Elderslie, Johnstone . PA5 9NB linda@mcgpaisley

Asst. Hon. Secretary: Graeme Cockburn

45 Galbraith Drive, 45 Galbraith Drive, Milngavie. G62 6LZ graeme@cockburn98.plus.com

#### **First Time Promotions**

All CTT affiliated clubs that promote either a Type A or Type B event for the first time in 2016 are entitled to receive a **free** "starter pack" of signs and will also be entitled to receive a **free** set of numbers. All the club has to pay for is postage and packing.

All enquiries should be sent to: signs@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk



## **District Secretaries' Meeting**

This took place on Saturday 13 February 2016 at Staverton Park. There was a very good turn out with all 22 CTT Districts represented. Topics covered included affiliation (following the new articles of association), payment by BACS/District bank accounts, accident reports, Gold badge/Certificate of Honour criteria, anti-doping, information deadlines, risk assessments and an update on the new CTT website. Those who attended all found this to be an extremely useful and informative day.

## Workshops/Conferences

**Organisers' Workshop** – Saturday 12 March 2016 at Staverton Park, Daventry.

This is now being organised by Ally Torode, who is the organiser of Champions Night.

Places are filling up fast. If your District hasn't yet submitted details of delegates who wish to attend there is still time. Details of delegates attending (to include name, telephone number and email address) are to be sent by the relevant District Secretary by 5pm Sunday 28 February to:

Ally Torode: allytorode@gmail.com

Please remember to confirm whether your delegate(s) require overnight accommodation and evening meal the night before, Friday 11 March 2016.

#### **RTTC - Classic Series 2016**

Chelmer CC
Buxton CC
Good Friday 25 March
Beacon RCC
Sunday 24 April
Border City Wh. CC
West Wales Cyclists' League
Stratford CC
Sunday 01 May
Sunday 22 May
Sunday 11 September

### **Champions Night - 16 January 2016**

Champions Night was held once more at Heythrop Park which continues to prove a very popular venue. The Guest of Honour was Paul Jones, the author of "A Corinthian Endeavour" which chronicles the history of RTTC/CTT National Hill Climbs from inception to the present day. The feedback from guests was that the hotel was excellent, and everyone had thoroughly enjoyed the evening. A very big thank you to Alison Torode, Keith Lawton and the many others involved for their hard work in making the evening such a success.

# **Anti-Doping**

2015 was a disappointing year in that there were two anti-doping rule violations following incompetition tests.

Andrew Hastings tested positive for two analbolic steroids; metenolone, its metabolite and a metabolite of stanozolol. The finding came as a result of an in-competition test at the National Championship Team Time Trial held on 30 May 2015.

The Richardsons – Trek RT team, of which Andrew Hastings was a member, has been disqualified from the Championship, and will forfeit its second placing.

The National Anti-Doping Panel suspended Andrew Hastings from all sport for a period of four years.

Robin Townsend tested positive for modafinil and modafinil acid, a metabolite of modafinil. The finding came as a result of an in-competition test at the BDCA '100 ' held on 5 September 2015.

The National Anti-Doping Panel suspended Robin Townsend from all sport for a period of four years.

It is hoped that these are isolated incidents. However, following these two positive tests, CTT is to increase its spending on dope testing throughout 2016. More testing is to be carried out, not just at National Championships and "flagship" events, but also at everyday events around the country.

## **Current suspensions**

The following riders are suspended from competition:

| Robin Townsend  | Team Swift            | until 7 October 2019   | <b>UK Anti-Doping</b> |
|-----------------|-----------------------|------------------------|-----------------------|
| Jeff King       | Oxonian CC            | until 20 July 2016     | London West DC        |
| Andrew Hastings | Richardson - Trek RT  | until 29 May 2019      | <b>UK Anti-Doping</b> |
| Ryan Taylor     | Horspath CSC          | until 3 January 2019   | British Cycling       |
| Jason White     | Clay Cross RT         | until 11 December 2016 | <b>UK Anti-Doping</b> |
| John Cobb       | none                  | until 30 May 016       | British Cycling       |
| Carmelo Luggeri | CC Ashwell            | until 30 April 2016    | Central DC            |
| John Shilson    | Exeter Wheelers       | sine die               | South West DC         |
| Paul Murphy     | Tyneside Vagabonds CC | sine die               | North East DC         |

Please could all District Secretaries notify the National Secretary (Legal & Corporate) of any suspensions not listed or if any new suspensions are imposed (Rule 5 – see page 332 of the 2016 CTT handbook).

## **Dates for the Diary**

National Council AGM - Sunday 4 December 2016 at Staverton Park, Daventry.

Champions Night will take place on Saturday 14 January 2017, again at Heythrop Park

#### CTT Handbook 2016

Copies are available from the CTT website shop, price £9.00 plus postage & packing.

http://www.cyclingtimetrials.org.uk